George; WJCAC Freshman of the Year for Men's Basketball

George; WJCAC Freshman of the Year for Men's Basketball







March 8, 2019




WJCAC Names All-Conference Basketball Teams




(Hobbs) The Western Junior College Athletic Conference announced its All-Conference Basketball Teams for 2019.




NMJC's Gideon George was named Men's Freshman of the Year, and Eternati Willock was named Defensive Player of the Year.  As Co-Conference Champions in Women's Basketball, Thunderbirds Coach Drew Sanders was named Co-Coach of the Year.




The Women's team will also be heading to Lubbock, as an At-Large Team to compete in the National Basketball Tournament March 18-23. The TBirds tip off in the second round, as the 8th seed, playing Tuesday March 19th at 3:00pm mountain time, at Rip Griffin Center. 




The following is the complete list for WJCAC's All Conference Basketball Team:








Co-Conference Champions                 New Mexico/South Plains College


Co-Coaches of the Year                      Drew Sanders New Mexico


                                                            Cayla Petree    South Plains College




Gabbie Green                                      South Plains College     MVP


Corbyn Cunningham                           Howard College


Grace Beasley                                     Midland College


Ogechi Nwodo                                   Midland College


Thamires Andrade                              New Mexico Jr. College


Eternati Willock                                  New Mexico Jr. College


Sydnee Wynn                                      New Mexico Jr. College


Kamryn Lemon                                   Odessa College


Julan McDonald                                 Odessa College


Sarah Shematsi                                   South Plains College


Keyneso Hunter                                  South Plains College


Caroline Germond                              South Plains College




Individual Awards


Defensive Player of the Year


Eternati Willock                                  New Mexico Jr. College


Caroline Germond                              South Plains College


Newcomer of the Year


Kamryn Lemon                                   Odessa College


Freshman of the Year


Sarah Shematsi                                   South Plains College






Kea Mays                                            Clarendon College


Jordan Taylor                                      Frank Phillips College


Bethany Theodore                               Midland College


Lana Marov                                         Midland College


Laci Hawthorne                                  New Mexico Jr. College


Amanda Soderqvist                            Odessa College


Yanina Todorova                                Odessa College


Morgan Dial                                        Western Texas College








Conference Champion                        Odessa College



Coach of the Year                               Kris Baumann             Odessa College

Gaige Prim                                          South Plains College   MVP


Ellis Jefferson                                     Clarendon College


Edwon Brady                                      Clarendon College


Garrick Green                                     Howard College


Matthew Johnson                                Howard College


Montre Gipson                                    Midland College


Gideon George                                    New Mexico Jr. College


James Reese                                        Odessa College


Dimon Carrigan                                  Odessa College


Jawaun Daniels                                   Odessa College


Trey Wade                                          South Plains College


Jonah Antonio                                     South Plains College






Defensive Player of the Year


Dimon Carrigan                                  Odessa College


Newcomer of the Year


Gaige Prim                                          South Plains College


Freshman of the Year


Gideon George                                    New Mexico Jr. College






LeAaron Cain                                     Clarendon College


Solomon Smith                                   Clarendon College


Marcus Brown                                    Frank Phillips College


James McNeil                                     Frank Phillips College


Marquise Kindel                                 Frank Phillips College


Jake Heese                                          Howard College


Darnell Rogers                                    New Mexico Jr. College


Dieon Rhea                                         New Mexico Jr. College


Jermane Carter                                                New Mexico Military Institute


Isaiah   Frances                                    New Mexico Military Institute


Jalen Hawkins                                     Odessa College


Jevon Brown                                       Western Texas College


Miles McDougal                                 Western Texas College