T-Birds Finish 3rd at South Plains

T-Birds Finish 3rd at South Plains

The NMJC Thunderbird Cross Country team competed at the South Plains Invitational, the team finished 3rd place. The meet was won by NAIA power Wayland Baptist. The battle for 2nd place was close, but the T-Birds lost to host school South Plains by 3 points. "We ran well today" commented Coach Becker. "We would have liked to get South Plains, but we will continue to keep working hard".

Individually, Esther Gitahi continued her outstanding season by winning the individual championship.  "We are working hard and Esther showed today that she is a smart runner". "She ran a very controlled race today and that was good to see" added Coach Becker. Teresha Jacobs continued to be very consistent running in the top ten (7th Place). She has been in the top ten each race this season. Sharon Jerono and Cynthia Kipserem ran back to form placing 12th and 13th. Finally, making great improvements were Abbigale Butler and Christine Moss. Both running big season best times.  

NEXT UP: The T-Birds will be back in action next Friday (October 13th) at the University of Southwest Invitational.  


  1. Wayland Baptist                             42 points
  2. South Plains                                   77 points
  3. New Mexico Junior College               80 points
  4. Lubbock Christian                           94 points
  5. Western New Mexico                       137 points
  6. NMMI                                             152 points
  7. Ranger                                           153 points
  8. UTPB                                              157 points
  9. Odessa                                            235 points
  10. University of Southwest                    270 points


1st                   Esther Gitahi                        18:27

7th                   Teresha Jacobs                    19:34

12th                 Sharon Jerono                     20:02

13th                 Cynthia Kipserem                20:03

60th                 Abbigale Butler                    23:34

61st                 Christine Moss                     23:42